Three Rock Dash - Wednesday 19/5/1999

Report by Douglas Barry - results below

Noel Berkeley was the star of the Three Rock Dash - a race which assembled the largest field the Irish Mountain Running Association has ever had for a Wednesday night League race. Noel who is the current Irish 10,000 metres track champion took off steadily with clubmate Gerry McGrath, a former 10,000 metre track champion himself, and promising Irish junior Mark Doyle alongside.

The doughty Mark is trying to get on to the Irish team for the Worlds in Borneo later in the year. If he makes it, it'll be his sixth appearance in succession. This feat, if achieved, will be a world record for any junior runner. Mark finished a strong 21st last year in the Worlds at Reunion, and is going well this year. Continuing his good form, he pushed hard to stay with the illustrious company on the climb up to the summit turn at the Fairy Castle. However, Noel Berkeley decided to let rip on the climb and pulled away easily from the rest as the course steepened.

Noel was well clear at the turn and admitted to easing back on the sweeping descent past the Two Rock transmitter. Untroubled for the remainder of the race, the classy Dundrum South Dublin runner was surprised to find that he had taken 28 seconds off his own record for the 4.8 kilometre course. A cluster of runners followed with Gerry McGrath in second, proving that his form is slowly returning after his injury. Mark Doyle took third ahead of Hugh McLindon - another who is trying to regain his excellent 1998 form.

In the women's race, only 90 seconds covered the first three runners home. Crusader's Una May missed Spanish international Alizia Romero's two year old record by only 4 seconds. Raheny's Laura McGinley, like Una an Irish international, held off the rapidly improving Joan Flanagan, a noted rock climber, who finished 3 minutes better than her time in last year's race. Another noted rock climber Calvin Torrans zipped down to take the over 50 men's category.

Adrian Tucker pipped Justin May in the vets 40 category while Jane Watt enjoyed extending her dominance of the women's vets category by a further race. Patrick Temple and Karen Guthrie won the short course races, while the AIB steamroller won the Inter Firm category with Simon Walters leading in Kieran Crowley, Vincent Blake, and Gerry O'Doherty.

Three Rock Dash 19/05/99

Leinster League 3 of 13 Inter-Firm 3 of 5

Pos	Num	Name	Club	Cat	Time
1	169	Noel Berkeley	DSD		18.24

2	272	Ger McGrath	DSD		19.20
3	217	Mark Doyle	Eagle M.R.C.	MJ	19.30
4	142	Hugh McLindon	3ROC		19.53
5	274	Brendan O'Brien	Ajax		20.13
6	254	Colin MacDougall			20.21
7	104	Adrian Tucker		MV	20.23
8	168	Justin May	3ROC	MV	20.31
9	139	Bob Lawlor	Crusaders		20.53
10	261	Alan Cox	Crusaders		21.08
11	101	Simon Walters	AIB		21.17
12	198	Eoin Keith			21.24
13	248	John Brennan			21.41
14	237	Adrian Hayes	Bray Runners		21.56
15	105	Declan Doyle			22.06
16	157	Gerry Lalor			22.18
17	264	Anthony Magill			22.22
18	218	Finbarr Desmond			22.29
19	146	Brian Jones	DUO		22.29
20	176	Cornelius Marshall	St. Albans		22.30
21	121	David Simpson	Rathfarnham	MJ	22.34
22	228	Fergus Brien			22.39
23	224	Patrick Casey	Crusaders		22.42
24	113	Paul Harrington			22.44
25	129	Kieran Crowley	AIB		22.52
26	268	John McDonnell	DSD		22.54
27	215	Richard Church			23.02
28	132	Peter Owens	Dalriada		23.03
29	267	Andrew Quin			23.04
30	249	Paddy Morgan	Kilmore A/C	MV	23.04
31	263	Peter McNamara	DUO		23.18
32	187	Vincent Blake	AIB		23.19
33	245	Paul Cullen			23.19
34	170	Gerry O'Doherty	AIB		23.24
35	231	Úna May	Crusaders	F	23.25
36	250	Martin Flynn	Ajax		23.29
37	276	Cormac MacDonnchadha	Ajax		23.49
38	134	Thomas Galvin	Glenasmole		24.06
39	120	Brian Bell	BHRR	MV	24.14

40	167	Tommy Whelan	Marathon Electric	MV	24.15
41	151	Claude McManmon		MV	24.19
42	271	Laura McGinley	Raheny	F	24.20
43	216	Aidan Fitzpatrick	•		24.29
44	136	Colin Burns	Ajax		24.32
45	233	Nigel Creighton	-		24.47
46	154	Graham Porter	Crusaders	MV	24.49
47	115	Calvin Torrans		MSV	24.53
48	183	Caimin Moloney	AIB		24.60
49	116	Joan Flanagan	Ajax	F	25.04
50	122	Joe Lalor	GEN	MV	25.09
51	106	Philip Brennan	Setanta O.C		25.13
52	226	Michael Healy			25.15
53	166	Jane Watt	Crusaders	FV	25.19
54	161	Vivian O'Gorman		MV	25.26
55	227	Alan Hughes			25.28
56	128	Gerry T. Lawlor	CSH/Guinness	MV	25.31
57	109	Dermot Bates	AIB		25.50
58	220	Pat Fitzpatrick	AIB		25.54
59	133	Roisin McDonnell	Crusaders	F	25.57
60	194	Dermot O'Callaghan	AIB		26.09
61	265	Neil Dobbs	DUO		26.10
62	126	Alan Dolan	Crusaders	MJ	26.19
63	119	Justin Keatinge	Ajax		26.21
64	256	Brendan Lawlor	Office City		26.24
65	270	Rory Wallace	Ajax		26.43
66	163	Tom Quinn		MV	26.45
67	219	Gavan Doherty	GEN		26.52
68	243	Eddie McGovern	Canada Life		26.55
69	240	Ray Linn		MV	27.03
70	238	Alan Guinane	AIB		27.13
71	244	Dave Weston	Setanta		27.20
72	262	Paul Keogh			27.48
73	103	Gordon Douglas		MV	27.55
74	179	Padraic Hamrock	AIB		27.57
75	192	Brian Byrne		MSV	28.10
76	266	Andrew Pomeroy	Hib		28.16
77	149	Eva Mulleady	Crusaders	F	28.20

78	114	Paddy Lord		MSV	28.21
79	156	Nina Philips	Crusaders	F	28.23
80	147	Eithne Mc Shane			28.29
81	204	Billy Alexander	AIB		28.33
82	269	Brian Delaney			28.46
83	174	Richard Marshall			28.53
84	203	Marian Hughes	DSD	FV	28.57
85	273	Eileen Walsh	Donore Harriers	F	29.06
86	173	Brendan Doherty	GEN	MSV	29.41
87	189	Niamh Fitzpatrick	AIB	F	29.51
88	229	John Fitzgerald		MV	29.58
89	123	Joe McDonagh	AIB		30.19
90	107	Suzanne Kennedy		F	31.04
91	199	Edward Hughes		MSV	31.42
92	178	Beccy Cameron	DSD	F	31.55
93	188	Danny Toye		MSV	31.58
94	138	Aine Donovan	Crusaders	F	32.10
95	197	Dawn Slevin			32.37
96	230	David Quinn	Gen	MV	32.43
97	108	Fiona Callaghan	AIB	F	32.46
98	193	Julie Hilliard		FV	32.49
99	145	Brendan O'Connor	Ajax		33.06
100	172	Alexis Fitzgerald	AIB		33.16
101	234	Maurice Mullins	Loughrea	MSV	33.31
102	255	Willie O'Gorman	Portmarnock	MSV	34.12
103	143	James Higgins	AIB		35.23
104	253	Justin Rea			35.30
105	110	Vera Quinlan		F	35.48
106	177	Ger Power	3ROC	FV	36.09
107	180	Anne Davitt	Bank of Ire.	F	40.33
108	184	Lindie Naughton	Crusaders	FV	41.20
109	214	Michael De Burca	Danann		41.40
		Short Course			
1	260	Patrick Temple	St Columbas	M14	12.12
2	205	Kieran Cleere	Blackrock A.C.	M16	12.28
3	277	Karen Guthrie		F16	14.51
4	246	Siobhan Byrne		F14	15.04
5	257	Amanda Pierpoint	St. Columbas	F14	15.18

6	259	Katie Moore	St Columbas	F14	15.23
7	251	Eoghan O'Gorman		M14	15.26
8	258	Lydia Moore	St. Columbas	F14	17.36
9	241	Catherine Woods		F14	18.15
10	275	June O'Gorman		F14	20.11

Marking: Henny Brandsma

Marshal: Henny Brandsma

Entries: Vivian O'Gorman, June O'Gorman, Joe Lalor, Douglas Barry

Finish: Douglas Barry, Eddie Guthrie

Results: Justin Keating, Joe Lalor, Douglas Barry

Web: Douglas Barry